My Smoothbrain Perspective

WolfAchilles

Jan 4, 2021
Hi all, I play almost exclusively thursar, I'm a vet of MO1, and I have played since combat alpha in MO2. Here are some of my thoughts boiled down.
1. Races and Clades
Obviously, having varied playstyles for each clade is good design. The implementation is pretty damn good, all things considered. Oghmir have place in combat as both fighters and mages. The low dex cap feels appropriate. However, I think it's bad for the game to have clade gifts that give a bonus to extraction and refining. I've spent my MO career extracting and refining steel and making weapons. I do not typically play oghmir. If I play a weapon crafter and try to make money doing it, my breakeven for selling weapons is worse than an oghmir. That doesn't feel right.
Alvarin getting access to higher tier materials from skinning is also kinda busted design. Alvarin have a place in combat too, but Alvarin have been hurt by the changes to the int and psy curves. Alvarin in MO1 were the most versatile characters. Because the int curve has become linear, the alvarin dex mage that typically had 55-65 int in MO1 is far weaker. Maybe that's appropriate, up for discussion. Alvarin fighters are still completely relevant and often crucial for securing kills.
Thursar are by far the most pigeonholed race. They have no bonuses whatsoever in professions. No int or psy, so they have far fewer bonus points and can fit fewer primaries, nor any clade bonuses. (not that I want Profession clade bonuses on thursar) They can make a great damage dealing foot fighter. I don't think there is a reason to use them for mounted at the moment with couched spears being the primary weapon for MC.