Found a great discussion about MMOs in general and why the new generation won't find games like MO2 appealing

Doom and Gloom

Mar 12, 2022
So this especially is true for people who have never played any MMOs, and why those people might pick up Albion etc. but will never play this game for more than 5 minutes
Video

Youtube link not working for some reason, click above

Mad Jugger

Aug 8, 2022
I do not think people want to play MO because it is a substandard product. I started playing when that trailer that had features in it, not in game came out. I pop on for every patch for a few days, see it is still buggy, not optimized, with little to no QOL changes and log off till the next patch because the game is free. After it is not free anymore I most likely will not be paying $15 to see if any of that has happened.

I do not like WoW, and my all time favorite MMO is UO, I played in its "golden era". I like hardcore games. Just not games that are subjectively not good.

Reactions: Gnidex

Emdash

Sep 22, 2021
I do not think people want to play MO because it is a substandard product. I started playing when that trailer that had features in it, not in game came out. I pop on for every patch for a few days, see it is still buggy, not optimized, with little to no QOL changes and log off till the next patch because the game is free. After it is not free anymore I most likely will not be paying $15 to see if any of that has happened.

I do not like WoW, and my all time favorite MMO is UO, I played in its "golden era". I like hardcore games. Just not games that are subjectively not good.

Agree. I know it sounds boomer but screw the new generation. You should see what happened to the other game genres. Everything is becoming mobile-esque. The good thing is that things band back, and I think sub is becoming something people want to do again, but MO needs to get its shit straight before that.

Need to focus on the FUNDAMENTALS.

Jackdstripper

Jan 8, 2021