Project Polish isn't enough

Dayde

Jul 31, 2020
I hate to compare different games.. especially vastly different games, but oh well.. here it goes.

Before I started playing MO1, I spent way too much time playing EVE Online. EVE Online and MO are similar in being full loot, lose everything, player driven economy, etc. CCP (EVE developers at the time) was pushing out big patches quickly, and were hyper focused on keeping the game balanced. One thing they did, that I think SV should really look at, is provide players (any player) access to a test server. Every patch they were working on would be pushed to the test server long before it was added to the actual game, and any player could switch to the test server and provide feedback. When you logged into the test server, everything from the production server was copied over.. so you had the exact same player experience, but with access to yet-to-be-released features.

SV really needs to adopt something similar. Especially as a small shop with limited developers coding. This gives players that wish to check out the test server a chance to see how new features might work (since it is test, they will need to know that things may/will change before production release), and it gives SV potentially several testers that can provide real world feedback and help the polishing effort. Since everyone could log into the test server at any time, no one will have an unfair advantage by using the test server. The test server could be limited to a few hundred players, and should be wiped and re-copied from prod every day or so as code is developed.