Let's put the MOUNT back into Mounted Magery

zozo

Feb 23, 2022
Hello,

I'm somewhat new to MO and currently play what's considered a Mounted Mage. However, not much about the skills makes the build feel very "mount" friendly.

To effectively play a Mounted Mage you need to dedicate 200 Action Skills purely to mounted Action Skills; 100 in Controlled Riding and another 100 in Mounted Magery.

What does 200 Action Skills get you?

• The ability for your spells to do full damage

What does it not get you?

• Normal casting speed
  • Can't turn while casting
  • Spells are easier to interrupt when mounted

If a Mounted Mage is expected to put 200 primary points to use their spells we should AT LEAST be able to control the horse while casting, reduce/remove the casting penalty, and have the SAME interrupt chance compared to others without the points.

• What's the point of getting CONTROLLED riding if we're unable to efficiently control the horse?
  • What's the point of getting MOUNTED Magery if we can't perform our spells like normal mages?

I understand things were different in the beta with Mounted Mages but from the perspective of someone playing MO after launch Mages feel incredibly inferior compared to the Mounted Archer abilities.

In conclusion,

Let's consider making Mounted Mages master of the Mount.

EDIT: Added the fact that spells are easier to interrupt while mounted.

Last edited:

Moored

Mar 24, 2021
You can't have quick charging spells and maneuverability because that would be over powered as fuck. Can you imagine how hard it would be to kill a serpentineing horse with a mage pumping heals into it faster than an archer can shoot? It's fine the way it is, imo.

Tzone

May 16, 2021
Lets have 135 int fat mages flame stike over and over at normal speed while being faster then any non mounted dex mage.